ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most prestigious international cricket tournaments, held every four years. The 2019 edition took place in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019. Ten teams participated in the tournament, competing in a round-robin format during the group stage, followed by knockout matches in the semi finals and final.

Tournament Format and Group Stage

The ten teams were divided into two groups, with each team playing nine matches during the group stage. The top four teams from each group advanced to the semi finals. The group stage featured thrilling matches, surprises, and standout performances from players representing their respective countries.

Top Performers and Records

Several players showcased outstanding performances during the tournament. Rohit Sharma of India was the highest run-scorer, accumulating five centuries and finishing as the tournament’s leading scorer. Mitchell Starc of Australia was the top wicket-taker, with 27 wickets to his name.

Impact and Legacy

  • The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 left a lasting impact on the sport, generating immense interest and support from cricket fans worldwide.
  • It highlighted the competitive nature of modern cricket and the rising stature of associate teams who put up spirited performances.
Future Editions and Aspirations
  • The success of the 2019 World Cup paved the way for future editions, with new host countries gearing up to welcome the cricketing world.
  • As the sport continues to evolve, fans eagerly await the next ICC Cricket World Cup.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here